I’m Standing on the Precipice

A Climate Change Concept Image

I’m standing on the precipice,

Wondering which way I should go,

Will I make the right decision?

How is it that I will know?

Left, right-right, left, I really am not sure,

My indecisiveness is what keeps me standing here.

What if I take a leap of faith?

And it turns out not to be right,

Can I trust myself to handle it?

Or, will I be led by my apparent fright?

I know that I cannot stay here with such inner strife,

‘Cuz living in this Liminal state isn’t truly living life.

I tell myself to forge ahead, there’s no turning back,

‘Why is it that I am really holding onto this ledge?’

Is it to hide my own greatness, even from me?

So I take a chance and move one step closer to the edge,

“What’s the worst that can happen?” the saying rings,

The worst is that I will have figured out a few more things.

Those which work, maybe those which don’t,

But with each realization comes a move toward,

The strength, the freedoms, the character who is me,

Another lesson learned?  Now, that’s a chance I can afford,

I want to be who I am because of MY choices,

Not because of others’ expectations or loud, coaxing voices,

And, most certainly NOT as a result of my very own fears!

I’m standing on the precipice…the view is breath-taking to see,

So many possibilities awaiting the person who is about to be me:-)

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “I’m Standing on the Precipice”

  1. CB says :

    Very nicely expressed. I think most of us can relate… I sure can!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Morgan says :

    I connect with so many of your words here. The hiding of greatness, the chance we can afford, and the idea that we are all becoming. Thanks for your insight into this liminal life.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elaine's Bloggers Paradise says :

    I really enjoyed this Sue 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Southern by Design says :

    So good Sue! This has great meaning and I connect 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

The Quill

A love for the unknown. A passion to learn. An eye to observe, another to understand.

aroused

Aroused by Arête, provoking poems and ideas

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

....on pets and prisoners.....

food for the body; food for the soul

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

de Wets Wild

Disappearing into South Africa's wild places... Again!

Pages in My Passport

Where every page tells a story...

Onto My Next 40 Years

My adventures in reading and writing

BRAIN CANCER BABE

Just a girl tryin' to beat brain cancer... and musings on life, love, fear, hope and survival

Lakeland Musings by Irwin

Rants and Raves of An Old Fart

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

What's (in) the picture?

Finding the story - Chris Breebaart Photography

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

