15 Miles Uphill in the Snow

“Extravagant exaggeration”?  In this day and age where EVERYTHING is overly dramatic?  Nah, never!  Not in a million years. But, just in case it could be true that we are living a life filled with Hyperboles nowadays more than ever, let’s take a little look-see at what it all means.

According to examples.yourdictionary.com, a hyperbole is the opposite of an understatement.  Examples given were things like, “I am so hungry, I could eat a horse”, “I had a ton of homework”, “You could have knocked me over with a feather”, and my personal favourite, “I had to walk 15 miles to school in the snow, uphill”.  My guess is that hyperboles have been around since the beginning of time, but I feel like the exaggerations, similar to the ones I just quoted, were at least rooted in some form of truth back in the day, unlike the ones our internet speak has unfolded such as, “OMG, I’m literally dying!”.

My parents grew up in the 1940’s and 1950’s, and I know from many of their personal truths that sayings such as, “I am so hungry….” and “I had to walk 15 miles..” were in fact half-truths, if not more.  Both my mom and dad lived on farms and their families were quite poor, such that they “didn’t have two cents to rub together”.   There were times for each of them wherein I am sure that they could have eaten one of their horses because they were just that hungry, and it was indeed true that they had to walk miles (maybe not 15 exactly) in the cold and snow to school (not sure whether or not it was uphill), often with improper footwear.  Their reality was so much different from the, “OMG, I’m dying here” expressions used at the thought of something funny or exciting happening.  While, as a youngster, I used to mock my parents for their ‘uphill in the snow’ stories having not fully understood their struggles, today’s generation of OMG’ers knows nothing of those sorts of realities.  Not in the way that past generations have, anyway.  Now, that’s not to say that people don’t have their challenges these days, as they certainly do, but I wonder if the hyperboles of times past will soon become extinct.  Will children of the western world understand what it means to have ‘walked uphill for miles in the snow’?  Maybe, maybe not.  I don’t know, but I can tell you that having heard my parents’ personal accounts of tough times has certainly instilled a sense of gratefulness for the many privileges that I have had in my life thus far.  I haven’t ever had to go hungry, or worry about literally freezing my toes off, or work to the point of ‘blood, sweat and tears’, and that is because of the many efforts and personal sacrifices of my mom, dad and others to create a better life for us.

Upon reflection, as I write this, maybe we should be grateful that today’s hyperboles are bourne out of more superficial circumstances, as opposed to partial truths, as was the case for many folks fifty and sixty years ago.  Maybe it is a good sign of the times that kids are saying, “I will just die, if I can’t have that new game” instead of, “I am so hungry, I could eat a horse.”  I just hope that our young ones realize the gifts that bestow them, especially as we look at commemorating Remembrance/Veteran’s Day in a few days time.  I know that I certainly feel fortunate that I can drive to work in a heated, comfortable vehicle, that I can open the fridge door and choose what I would like to eat, and that I won’t actually ‘die’ upon hearing a good news item.  But…I do have a MILLION other things that I need to do today, so I best sign off for now and get at them.  And, that’s no exaggeration, my friends;-).

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “15 Miles Uphill in the Snow”

  1. jpeters6248 says :

    Love this post. It is so true about the hyperboles of the past being based on partial truths. Just yesterday I was talking to the kids I watch about the things we used to do like playing “Kick the Can”. Neither of them could understand how that could be a fun game, but after I explained that a long time ago kids didn’t have all the toys and technology that there is today not only because they weren’t available but because many people didn’t, as you said, “have 2 cents to rub together”. Myself, but more so the generations before me, had to rely on our imaginations to play. We used the things found in our surroundings to entertain ourselves. That just blew their minds away, but at the same time once it was explained they thought it sounded fun. I’m trying to think of a way to let them experience coming up with their own games using random things found around us. Have a great weekend Sue!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Sue says :

      Interesting, isn’t it? The thing is that babies and toddlers (and even pets) are often easily entertained with the most mundane items (boxes, plastic bottles, balls, socks, etc.) Kinda makes you wonder what would happen with slighly older kids if we stripped all of the techy stuff away, and went back to the basics. I think that we would definitely see an explosion in people’s imaginative abilities. Enjoy the rest of your Saturday/Sunday.

      Like

  2. Southern by Design says :

    Excellent post! I was chuckling- my dad always said, “I had to walk to and from school, uphill both ways!” LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

The Quill

A love for the unknown. A passion to learn. An eye to observe, another to understand.

aroused

Aroused by Arête, provoking poems and ideas

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

....on pets and prisoners.....

food for the body; food for the soul

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

Elaine's Blog

Living the dream 😉

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

de Wets Wild

Disappearing into South Africa's wild places... Again!

Pages in My Passport

Where every page tells a story...

Onto My Next 40 Years

My adventures in reading and writing

BRAIN CANCER BABE

Just a girl tryin' to beat brain cancer... and musings on life, love, fear, hope and survival

Lakeland Musings by Irwin

Rants and Raves of An Old Fart

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

What's (in) the picture?

Finding the story - Chris Breebaart Photography

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

