More Than Just Canning Peaches

image

Just a glimpse of these freshly canned peaches from a couple of weeks ago elicits a sense of comfort from within.

Growing up, my mom did it all.  At her age now, I have NO idea how she managed everything.  It is one of life’s wonders without a doubt.  She worked, attended evening classes, raised us three kids, gardened, canned and the list goes on.  One of my favourite back-to-school childhood memories is of coming home at the end of the day and finding the counter filled with freshly canned or baked goods.  The house always smelled so good and one could almost taste the results immediately.  Little did I know back then just how much work it all was.  Now that she and I have made a tradition of canning peaches together most falls, I have a sincere appreciation for the time and energy that was spent in an effort to give us a little taste of summer on those cold, wintry days.  Though my mom’s mom (my Baba) passed away while I was quite young, simply having the knowledge that she also spent many a day canning and gardening helps me to feel close to her.  Nothing takes the place of that.  Just thinking about it makes me smile from the inside out and sends a familiar feeling of fuzzy, peachy warmth right through the core of my very being.  In such a moment of time, nothing else matters in the world other than the fact that I am my mom’s daughter and my Baba’s granddaughter:-).  No wonder the saying, “I’m feeling peachy keen” exists.

Nostalgia

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “More Than Just Canning Peaches”

  1. westseventhfreelance says :

    This is a lovely post for nostalgia!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jaimie says :

    This one brought tears to my eyes. I feel the same way though I never did the canning with my Grandma I did sit and share a jar of peaches or pears or cherries every night I stayed with them overnight. I always feel this loving energy around me on canning days because I feel as if she is doing it with me. And I cherish the fact that my girls greet me with a “wow! Yummy!” when they get home on those canning days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sue says :

      Awww…thanks, Jaimie! I think it’s super neat that each you and I enjoy doing such things, as canning and gardening. They bring about a certain sense of fellowship, earthly goodness and family, don’t they? Sharing the ‘fruits’ of one’s labour with a loved one in the way that you did with your grandma is proof:-). Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  3. sustainabilitea says :

    My m-i-l canned the most delicious peaches and I did it with here for a few years. Unfortunately, I don’t have her recipe, although I could of course find one online or in a cookbook. Eating homemade food, especially canned or frozen and eaten later, is an event filled with tasty nostalgia. Perfect choice.

    janet

    Liked by 1 person

    • Sue says :

      Thanks for reading! I think one would be hard pressed to find someone who doesn’t enjoy canned peaches and homemade goodies. Especially when they are made with so much love and to be shared.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. bythebriny says :

    What a great harvest — and memory.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Photography Journal Blog says :

    I did a lot of canning as a kid with my Mom. Not exactly happy times, such incredibly hot exhausting work. It’s nice that it’s a nice memory for you though.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Nostalgia: Paris | What's (in) the picture? - October 1, 2016

Leave a Reply

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

....on pets and prisoners.....

food for the body; food for the soul

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

de Wets Wild

Disappearing into South Africa's wild places... Again!

Pages in My Passport

Where every page tells a story...

Onto My Next 40 Years

My adventures in reading and writing

BRAIN CANCER BABE

Just a girl tryin' to beat brain cancer... and musings on life, love, fear, hope and survival

Lakeland Musings by Irwin

Rants and Raves of An Old Fart

MakeItUltra™

Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

What's (in) the picture?

Finding the story - Chris Breebaart Photography

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

along the side of the road

Oh the places you'll go ~ Dr. Seuss

The Snow Melts Somewhere

Travel photo blog - travel stories and dreamy images

