The Two Parts of ‘Crises’

Crisis

Well, I could write about the kinds of crises that one endures in their lifetime and/or some of which I have faced personally, as we all have had to do and still will, I’m sure. But, instead I’m going to keep this one short and more to the positive side, I hope. (I don’t want you to have to face a crisis simply in reading this:-).

Without looking up the origin of the word, I do see two very interesting things in the breakdown of it that maybe others have also seen. In fact, what I am about to say might even be common knowledge to most people, but it is something that I just happened to notice for the first time in looking at the word parts.

The initial part of the word ‘crisis’ almost spells out the word ‘cries’, which one often does when faced with difficult times or personal struggles. But, the second part of the word ‘crises’, spells out ‘rises’. Interesting!  (Though, now I seem to recall hearing the last part about rising before.  Nonetheless…)  First comes the agony and upset, then comes the strength and power to overcome it. Hmmm. I think I’ll keep that handy little analysis in my back pocket for the next time something happens…maybe it’ll help you too or maybe it’ll serve as a reminder, if you had previously gained that insight, but forgotten, panicked or looked past it:-).

Rising. I like that. After all, most people agree that it’s how you handle or come out of various ‘crises’ which is usually self-defining. Just like this one hundred and twenty year-old (our best approximation) tree in our present front yard here in the mountains. May it give you strength and hope in some of your darkest times, as despite its age, scars and missing branches, it keeps reaching for the limits of the sky of which there are none. Notice the bright blue light above it. There will always be light –even if you cannot see or feel it at the time.

image

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Two Parts of ‘Crises’”

  1. jpeters6248 says :

    I love this post. It’s a great way to look at the word. I’m envious of that tree in your front yard. I miss living close to nature. I went to college near the redwood forest in northern California and I spent a lot of time in that forest or on the beach which was also close by.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. xtofchua says :

    What a great post with quality!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. roseelaineblog says :

    Fantastic post, I will remember to split that word in two in future. 😬

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

SKYLARITY

Mindfulness, Spontaneity and Authenticity

Thriving Under Pressure

Positive Psychology & Stress Resilience

The ancient eavesdropper

Nature's nuances in a nutshell

....on pets and prisoners.....

food for the body; food for the soul

Southern By Design

Flip Flops, Beach Hair & Life Is Good

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

de Wets Wild

Disappearing into South Africa's wild places... Again!

Pages in My Passport

Where every page tells a story...

Onto My Next 40 Years

My adventures in reading and writing

BRAIN CANCER BABE

Just a girl tryin' to beat brain cancer... and musings on life, love, fear, hope and survival

Lakeland Musings by Irwin

Rants and Raves of An Old Fart

MakeItUltra™

Psychology to Motivate | Inspire | Uplift

What's (in) the picture?

Finding the story - Chris Breebaart Photography

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

along the side of the road

Oh the places you'll go ~ Dr. Seuss

The Snow Melts Somewhere

Travel photo blog - travel stories and dreamy images

